ACE Peripherals | Support Ticket System

Frequently Asked Question

General: What is the RESET button on the Synology product for?
Last Updated 6 years ago

The RESET button performs various functions on different models. Please refer to the following description according to the Synology Product model.

For models installed with DSM 2.2-0941 and onward
The RESET button on the Synology product has the following functions.
  1. To restore the "admin" account to default value.
  2. To reset the UI management port to 5000/5001.
  3. To reset IP, DNS, gateway, and other net interfaces to DHCP.
  4. To disable PPPoE.
  5. To disable auto block.
  6. To disable firewall rules.
  7. To unmount encrypted folders and disable Mount automatically on startup.
  8. To remove high-availability cluster.
Please note that the hard drive will not be formatted, so you don't have to worry about losing data.


For models installed with DSM v2.0.1-3.0368 to DSM 2.2-0941
The RESET button on the Synology product has the following two functions.
  1. To restore IP, DNS, passwords for the "admin" account to default value, and reset the "guest" account to the "enabled" status.
  2. To re-install the Synology product.
Please note that the hard drive will not be formatted, so you don't have to worry about losing data.


For models installed with DSM earlier than v2.0.1-3.0368
The RESET button on the Synology Product is for resetting the IP, DNS, and the password of "admin" account. The hard drive will not be formatted, so you don't have to worry about losing data. Note: The default admin password is blank.
Note: The default admin password is blank.



ZGTLv150415

Please Wait!

Please wait... it will take a second!